Mersenne Forum Copy - On Ramanujan's B'day, I'm hereby declaring that "Pi Exponent" M314,159,257 is a definite Prime!!

Indrajith Gamage

• Aug 15, 2020
    Moratuwa
    www.facebook.com
    This post originally appeared on Mersenne Forum. Re-posting here for posterity. Original link is here.

https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?p=595950

Hi, this is Indrajith Gamage from Sri Lanka. I'm a complete newbie to Mersenne forum and not qualified beyond Bachelors' degree level in Mathematics. (If you don't already know, Sri Lanka is the small island country below India.) One nice coincidence is that I'm posting this on 22nd of December 2021, which is the Birthday of the Indian Mathematical genius Ramanujan.

So with those things in mind, I'm making this post to declare that the exponent M314,159,257 is a definite prime. I'm also hereby reserving and naming it as the "Pi Exponent". The reason behind that name is very simple. Just cross check it with the first 7 digits of Pi (3 and first 6 decimals). They match exactly. I found this today itself and made a Facebook post for verification purposes at 5.51pm IST today.(GMT +5.30)

So why is this declaration important? The answer is quite simple. I know that the current record holder for the biggest prime known is M82,589,933 and has been so since 2018. My exponent itself is nearly 4 times larger, which means it's more than 2^231 times massive. So it will be no surprise with current resources we have, verifying this using LL or any other methods will be quite a while ahead.

However, I'm giving you my word that this is undoubtedly a prime, and easily the biggest Prime Number found by quite a stretch. The "Pi Exponent" is doubly fascinating, because as we all know, Pi has a special place in any mathematician's heart. This is probably redundant, but in case anyone does not understand, I'm specifically declaring that,

2^314,159,257 - 1 is a Prime Number